Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MHS Port: Your Research and Reading Hub: Home

MHS Port Home Page

About The Port

Open School Days 7-4
Main Phone Line: 952-401-5894
Students are welcome anytime to get technical assistance and to use computers and work spaces. 

Direct Contacts:

Research/Technology:  Ann Kaste, Digital Information and Learning Coordinator ann.kaste@minnetonkaschools.org 

Classroom Technology, Printers, Audio/Visual Equipment: Mary Beth Raby  marybeth.raby@minnetonkaschools.org

Ipad, App, Media support: Cathi Peterson catherine.peterson@minnetonkaschools.org

WELCOME

Hennepin County Library Resources

These resources are only available by using an HCL card number and PIN.   You can get a HCL card even if you don't live in Hennepin County.  How do I get a Hennepin County Library Card?  OR What's My PIN?  I forgot!!

Ms. Kaste's Faves:

CQ Researcher
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Academic Search Premier
General One File

Interlibrary Loan

Using Your Hennepin County Library Card, you can access just about anything you will need from any library you can dream of.  Use MNLink when you know what you want but it is not available locally.  Pick up items that you order at your local HCL branch.  

How does this work?  MNLink Tutorial
How do I get a Hennepin County Library Card?  OR What's My PIN?  I forgot!!

Research Articles

 EXPLORA

Contains middle and high school-appropriate magazine, journal, and encyclopedia articles and also includes primary source documents, reference books, and multimedia. Includes Middle Search Plus, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Consumer Health Complete, Health Source - Consumer Edition, and Science Reference Center databases

 

STUDENT RESOURCES IN CONTEXT

 

Encyclopedia, magazine, and journal articles, plus primary sources, images, video, and more for middle and high school students. Includes the InfoTrac Student Edition database.

 


 EXPANDED ACADEMIC INDEX

Thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines

 

 

 

A popular resource found in many scholarly settings worldwide, Academic Search Premier is a leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines and other valuable resources.

Google Scholar

  Use Google Scholar to search for academic articles.     

 

Newspapers

PROQUEST GLOBAL NEWSSTREAM

Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.

Encyclopedias

BRITTANICA

Encyclopedia content for high school grades plus multimedia, timelines, world atlas, country comparison, and primary sources

Points of View

POINTS OF VIEW REFERENCE CENTER

Pro vs. con essays that present multiple sides of current or controversial issues. Plus magazine and newspaper articles, primary sources, and more related to those issues

Ebooks for Research

GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY

Collection of online reference books and encyclopedias covering topics from Art to History to Medicine.

Science Reference

SCIENCE REFERENCE CENTER

Collection of online reference books and periodicals covering applied, earth, life, and physical sciences.

 


 

GENERAL SCIENCE COLLECTION

Collection of online reference books and periodicals covering applied, earth, life, and physical sciences.